Easy Chocolate Ice Cream

Chocolate Ice Cream

Chocolate Ice Cream

I have been wanting an ice cream maker for the longest time.  There’s a Cuisinart ice cream maker that’s been sitting in my Amazon cart since last year but I can’t bring myself to buy it until the price drops drastically or until I find a job.  There are some good premium ice creams like Haagen-Dazs and Ben & Jerry’s at the supermarket but I really like the idea of making fresh ice cream in my favorite flavors.  A couple of weeks ago, I found a recipe for no-churn chocolate ice cream at Cook’s Country and it intrigued me.  I ended up impressed with the simplicity and the results.  It turned out smooth and creamy and the slight mocha taste was quite flavorful.  My only concern with this recipe was the leftover sweetened condensed milk because I dislike waste and I don’t use this type of milk for anything else. The inside of the can’s label had instructions to make dulce de leche which my kids like so I used the leftover condensed milk to make this thick, caramelized milk in the microwave which could then be poured on top of ice cream or other desserts.

Adapted from Cook’s Country

Easy Chocolate Ice Cream

If you plan to store the ice cream for more than a few days, place plastic wrap directly on its surface before freezing.

Makes 1 quart

1  teaspoon instant coffee or espresso powder

1  tablespoon hot water

4  ounces bittersweet chocolate, chopped fine (I used a Ghirardelli 60% baking bar)

1/2   cup sweetened condensed milk

1/2  teaspoon vanilla extract

Pinch of salt

1 1/4  cups heavy cream, cold

Instructions

1.  Combine coffee or espresso powder and hot water in a small bowl.  Let stand until coffee dissolves, about 5 minutes.  Microwave chocolate, sweetened condensed milk, and coffee mixture in a large microwave-safe bowl, stirring every 10 seconds until chocolate is melted, about 1 minute.  Stir in vanilla and pinch of salt.  Allow to cool.

2.  Whip cream to soft peaks with an electric mixer on medium-high speed, about 2 minutes.  Whisk 1/3 of the whipped cream into chocolate mixture.  Fold remaining whipped cream into chocolate mixture until incorporated.  Freeze in an airtight container until firm…at least 6 hours or up to 2 weeks.

3 comments on “Easy Chocolate Ice Cream

  1. Hana says:

    yum, i can’t wait to try this – i don’t have an ice-cream maker either.

  2. Barbara says:

    I don’t have an ice cream maker either and have been drooling at the homemade ice cream posts on Taste Spotting, so I will certainly give this one a try at some point.
    As for sweetened condensed cream, I only use it for one thing which is these cookies by Paula Deen. Perhaps you could tweak it to match your leftover amount of milk. http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/paula-deen/stick-to-your-teeth-chocolate-cookies-recipe/index.html

Leave a Reply

