Boneless Buffalo Chicken

Buffalo chicken and celery

Buffalo chicken and celery

My kids like places like Buffalo Wild Wings.  But with money being tight lately I wanted to give them a taste of Buffalo chicken without breaking the bank.  I found a worthy recipe in the Feb/Mar 2009 issue of Cook’s Country magazine. After making this recipe a couple of times, I’ve found that the amount of cornstarch and egg whites can be reduced so I’ve included my amounts in this recipe.

Adapted from Cook’s Country

Boneless Buffalo Chicken

In step 3, the fried chicken pieces can be held in a 200-degree oven for 30 minutes before being tossed in the sauce.  A relatively mild cayenne pepper-based hot sauce, like Frank’s, is essential; avoid hotter sauces like Tabasco.

3 or 4 boneless, skinless chicken breasts (about 1 1/2 pounds), cut into 1 1/2-inch chunks

1/2 cup buttermilk

1 teaspoon salt

3/4 cup hot sauce (Frank’s is preferred)

1/4 cup water

1/4 teaspoon sugar

1 Tablespoon unsalted butter

1 cup cornstarch

3 large egg whites

1/2 cup all-purpose flour

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

3 to 4 cups vegetable oil

1.  Combine chicken, buttermilk, and salt in large zipper-lock bag and refrigerate 30 minutes or up to 2 hours.  Combine hot sauce, water, sugar, butter, and 2 teaspoons cornstarch in saucepan.  Whisk over medium heat until thickened, about 5 minutes.  Remove from heat.

2.  Whisk egg whites in shallow dish until foamy.  Stir flour, baking soda, remaining cornstarch, and 6 tablespoons hot sauce mixture in second shallow dish until mixture resembles coarse meal.  Remove chicken from marinade and pat dry with paper towels.  Toss half of the chicken with the egg whites until well coated, then dredge chicken in cornstarch mixture, pressing to adhere.  Transfer coated chicken to plate dusted with a little bit of the cornstarch mixture and repeat with remaining chicken.

3.  Heat oil in large saucepan or Dutch oven over medium-high heat until the oil registers 350 degrees.  Fry half of the chicken until golden brown, about 4 minutes, turning each piece halfway through cooking.  Transfer chicken to paper towel-lined plate.  Return oil to 350 degrees and repeat with remaining chicken.

4.  Warm the hot sauce mixture over medium-low heat until simmering.  Combine chicken and hot sauce mixture in large bowl and toss to coat.  Serve.

21 comments on “Boneless Buffalo Chicken

  1. TasteStopping says:

    We love homemade chicken tenders (especially our kids), but haven’t thought of going the way of the boneless buffalo wings. Just thinking about it brings me back to the Allston Sport Bar outside of Boston and their fantastic BBW on game day. Luckily, we have at least one child that will venture down the slightly spicy path, so we can share these with her! Thanks for the recipe.

    Best,
    Casey
    Editor
    http://www.tastestopping.wordpress.com

    • tortatebukura says:

      Casey, I have a tip. Since I don’t care for too much heat in my food, I remove a few pieces of cooked chicken before saucing them in the final step. I eat these myself while the kids eat the spicy stuff. Maybe you could do the same for your kids that don’t like their food hot and spicy.

  2. Muneeba says:

    This is really neat .. I’m no kid, but I’ve got a soft spot for buffalo chicken too! And now I can plan it out in such a way that I can make this recipe with the 3 egg whites, then make ice-cream for dessert with the remaining egg yolks. That makes me happy :)

    • tortatebukura says:

      That’s a great idea that I forgot to include in my post. The egg whites I used were left over from making pastry cream for a Boston Cream Pie that I made last week. The pastry cream used only egg yolks so I saved the whites for this recipe because I really dislike waste and good eggs aren’t cheap. Muneeba, I enjoy reading your blog so I included it in my links. Thank you for stopping by and taking a peek at mine. :-)

  3. I can’t wait to make these for my boys! Great post!

  4. Alejandra says:

    Oh man! My mouth is watering. I don’t even have kids yet…I just want to make these for me! (OK, and my boyfriend too. But I’ll get the bigger share.)

  5. Kate says:

    Followed from Tastestoppers Anonymous! :) These look GREAT.

  6. Hello there! I’m in process of making them now. the chicken is waiting in the fridge.. and I cant wait!! simple and yummy!

    • tortatebukura says:

      Thank you for stopping by my blog. I took a peek at your blog and the photos are lovely. Please let me know how you liked the chicken.

  7. Michael says:

    OMG! Im excited to try these, they look fairly simple to make. Its really challenging to find food that i will actually eat. You see i cant eat vegtables as they make me ill, so if you had any recipies for a person like me i ould more than welcome them!

  8. [...] begging, I convinced Jonathan to make one of my favorite snacks: BONELESS BUFFALO WINGS. We found this recipe a few months ago through stumbleupon and it has been one of my favorite treats ever [...]

  9. kari says:

    this recipe was the centerpiece of our super bowl feast. i made the chicken just like you said, but had two sauce choices for dipping- your hot wing sauce and (yes)orange chicken sauce. YUM!!! i loved this batter recipe. even though the chicken was fried, the crispy breading was very light.
    oh, and all THREE of my boys (11, 8, 3) loved them!
    Kari

  10. kari says:

    p.s.s. shared the link on my facebook page too!

  11. Shannon says:

    I found this recipe about 6 mo’s ago and have to say this is the best buffalo wing recipe ever! (I double the hot sauce mix so there is more to coat the chicken with and then use a rubbermaid container and shake the chicken pieces around so they are well coated). We make these on movie nights and my son LOVES them! If you haven’t tried them yet, you need to!

  12. 618Momof2 says:

    I found your chicken recipe on Pinterest!! I am making it tonight for dinner. YUMM-O!

  13. Stephanie says:

    Thank you!!! I’ve never had success making fried chicken tenders….ever. I followed this recipe and my tenders turned out great! I also took a tip I heard about making fried chicken and after drying my chicken I put it in some all purpose flour, shook all the excess off and then in the egg whites. Goodbye frozen chicken tenders! :)

  14. Racheal says:

    These are sooo good! I’ve made them a few times now and every time they are a huge hit!

Leave a Reply

