Pancakes

Pancake stack

Pancake stack

Since I discovered this recipe in my ATK cookbook, I have not bought another box of pancake mix again.  These pancakes are easy to make and taste better than any boxed mix.  There is one change that I insist upon in this recipe.  The original recipe says to use vegetable oil in the skillet when cooking the pancakes but I use butter because it tastes much better and it makes this crisp edges that are so addictive.

Adapted from ATK Family Cookbook

Pancakes

Makes about 16 (4-inch) pancakes

If you do not have buttermilk on hand, whisk 1 tablespoon fresh lemon juice with 2 cups milk in a medium bowl and set aside for a few minutes to thicken.

- 2 cups all-purpose flour

- 2 tablespoons sugar

- 2 teaspoons baking powder

- 1/2 teaspoon baking soda

- 1/2 teaspoon salt

- 1 large egg

- 3 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted and cooled to room temperature

- 2 cups buttermilk

- butter or oil for cooking

1.  Adjust an oven rack to the middle position and heat the oven to 200 degrees F.  Set a wire cooling rack over a baking sheet and set aside.

2.  Whisk together the flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda and salt in a large bowl.  In a seperate bowl, whisk together the egg, melted butter, and then the buttermilk.  Make a well in the center of the dry ingredients, pour the buttermilk mixture into the well and whisk very gently until the buttermilk mixture is just incorporated (a few lumps should remain).  Be careful not to overmix the batter because it will make the pancakes tough.

3.  Heat a 12-inch nonstick skillet or flat griddle over medium heat for 3 to 5 minutes.  Melt a pat of butter in skillet or brush with 1 teaspoon of oil.  Using 1/4 cup of batter per pancake, add the batter to the skillet (only 2 to 3 pancakes will fit at a time) and cook until large bubbles begin to appear, about 2 minutes.  Flip the pancakes and cook until golden brown on the second side, about 1 1/2 minutes longer.  Spread the pancakes over the wire rack on the baking sheet (they should not overlap) and hold in the warm oven.  Repeat with the remaining batter, using a new pat of butter or brushing the skillet with oil as needed between batches.

If you have leftover pancakes, let them cool to room temperature, then wrap them in plastic wrap and freeze.  They will keep for up to a week.  Defrost in the fridge, then heat in a 350-degree oven until warm, about 5 minutes.

Tip:  Less mixing is key

To keep the pancakes as light and fluffy as possible, the key is to mix the batter minimally.  Stop stirring the batter when there are still some streaks of flour visible.  Overmixing the batter develops gluten, the strands of protein that make bread chewy, but turn pancakes tough.

DSCN0755_750x714.shklDSCN0753_750x609.shkl

17 comments on “Pancakes

  1. Karine says:

    These pancakes sound delicious! thanks for sharing:)

  2. woods4 says:

    wow great job – and homemade over boxed anyday!

  3. cyberman says:

    I have searched so long for a pancake recipe that actually results in fluffy, tasty perfect pancakes and I have finally found it!! Thank You!
    I used the lemon in the milk trick and I hardly mixed it and they were perfectly fluffy and tasty.

    • tortatebukura says:

      Oh that makes me so happy to read. I love hearing from people who try these recipes. I am so glad you enjoyed the pancakes.
      -Betsy

  4. Nora says:

    Thanks for this recipe. I have to try it. The only things is, it calls for baking soda, which I’m turned off by. I used arm and hammer once and it gave my scones a weird taste. Can I just use baking powder? I don’t think there is another brand of baking soda. Do you know if baking soda expires?

    Thanks for you help.

    • tortatebukura says:

      Hi Nora, I looked up some info for you:
      From Cook’s Illustrated: “Baking soda is a leavener that provides lift to a baking good. When baking soda, which is alkaline, meets up with an acidic ingredient (such as sour cream, buttermilk, or brown sugar), carbon and oxygen combine to form the gas carbon dioxide. The tiny bubbles of carbon dioxide then lit up the dough.”
      “We’ve found it is important to use precisely the correct amount of baking soda. If you use too little, you won’t have enough bubbles and the dough won’t rise. If you use too much, though, you end up with too much carbon dioxide, which causes the bubble to get too big. These large bubbles then join up with one another and eventually rise to the top of the dough and burst, resulting in a flat product.”

      In other words, baking soda is a very necessary ingredient in fluffy pancake recipes. From what I’ve read in the past, I think that your scone problem is from too much baking soda in the recipe.

      From Joy of Baking: ” Baking soda, also known as sodium bicarbonate or bicarbonate of soda (alkali) is about four times as strong as baking powder. It is used in recipes that contain an acidic ingredient (e.g. vinegar, citrus juice, sour cream, yogurt, buttermilk, chocolate, cocoa (not Dutch-processed), honey, molasses (also brown sugar), fruits and maple syrup). Baking soda starts to react and release carbon dioxide gas as soon as it is added to the batter and moistened. Make sure to bake the batter immediately.

      Baking soda has an indefinite shelf life if stored in a sealed container in a cool dry place. Too much baking soda will result in a soapy taste with a coarse, open crumb. Baking soda causes reddening of cocoa powder when baked, hence the name Devil’s Food Cake.”

      Read more: http://www.joyofbaking.com/bakingsoda.html#ixzz0SnaEcTR3

      • Nora says:

        Thanks so much for the info. That’s weird. I didn’t think I put too much. I always follow the recipe exclusively. In fact, my mom even jokes about how I always measure out exactly what the recipe calls for and don’t put anything more or less. I hate ‘eyeballing’ things. I guess I’ll be even more careful next time.

      • tortatebukura says:

        Hi Nora,

        I don’t believe you yourself overdid it with the baking soda. I think that you might have had a faulty scone recipe. There are many recipes on the Internet that are dubious and untried. One of the reasons I love Cook’s Illustrated and America’s Test Kitchen is that they test their recipes hundreds of times so their results are as close to perfect as you can get.
        I hope this helps, Nora. :-)

      • Nora says:

        Yeah, that scone recipe was weird. It said baking soda in the list of recipes then it said baking powder in the instructions. Thanks for your help! :)

  5. TheFatGirlBlogs says:

    You have a WONDERFUL Blog!! I’m passing the One Lovely Blog Award to you :)

    http://thefatgirlblogs.wordpress.com/2009/10/12/one-lovely-blog-award/

  6. Aneez says:

    I’m making this recipe RIGHT NOW! Thanks for the tips!

    Aneez

  7. Aneez says:

    yum yum! I’ve added a bit of cinnamon and these are D-LISH!

  8. Amy says:

    These are the best pancakes I have ever made! I thought I did it wrong initially, as I’m used to really runny pancake batter, so mine we’re a little more oblong, less pretty and round than yours. But they tasted amazing! Thanks for the recipe, I will definitely be making these again!

    • tortatebukura says:

      Well, thank you! You see how easy it is to make pancakes from scratch? Pancake mixes in a box cannot compare to this pancake recipe. And it’s not hard at all. I am so glad you enjoyed them. About making them rounder….after I pour the batter into the pan, I use the back of a spoon to spread the batter into a rounder shape.

  9. Janine says:

    I am definitely going to make these on the weekend ! Thank you …

Leave a Reply

