Easily my favorite comfort food: Potatoes and Onions

Potatoes & Onions

Potatoes & Onions

For my first official post I chose the dish that says, “Everything will be alright.  Don’t worry. Things will look up.”

There’s no real right or wrong way to make this dish.  I don’t have a set recipe but there are couple of things to remember.  Add the onions when the potatoes are almost halfway cooked otherwise they will burn.  I normally use red potatoes for this dish but other types can be used.

Here’s what you need for a large single serving or 2 smaller servings:

-4 or 5 small or medium red potatoes

-vegetable or olive oil

-salt and pepper

-half an onion cut into wedges

-fresh herbs

Cut the potatoes into wedges while you heat up a nonstick skillet over medium heat.  Rinse and dry the wedges a bit and then add some oil to the pan.  Place the wedges cut-side down carefully into the pan.  Sprinkle with salt and pepper and cover pan with a lid.  Cook for about 10-12 minutes and check potatoes to make sure they aren’t burning.  When nicely browned, flip each wedge carefully with a fork and then toss the onion wedges on top of potatoes.  You don’t need to use the lid again if you want crispy potatoes. Cook until the second side of the potatoes is browned and the onions have cooked.

When done, I sprinkled the potatoes with some lemon thyme we have growing on our balcony to brighten the flavor.

These potatoes come out crisp on the outside and fluffy on the inside.

A plate of these never fails to please.  🙂 <unintentional rhyme>

6 comments on “Easily my favorite comfort food: Potatoes and Onions

  1. Tatiana says:

    Those look oh so yummy!

  2. […] Easily my favorite comfort food: Potatoes and Onions For my first official post I chose the dish that says, “Everything will be alright.  Don’t worry. Things […] […]

  3. Edward says:

    Try par-boiling them, then tossing them in a metal colander. It roughens the outside, giving it more surface area for the oil, and thus making them crispier.

  4. coachlydia says:

    This looks absolutely fantastic. I love potatoes too, my prefer dish is mash, I love mash.

  5. Barbara says:

    Hello! I made these potatoes last weekend and wanted to let you know that they turned out great, just as you said. Thanks for sharing your recipe!

Leave a Reply

