One way to use up strawberries

Sweet pizza with strawberries and bananas

Sweet pizza with strawberries and bananas

I’ve always wanted to try a dessert pizza and I got the opportunity when I had strawberries and bananas that needed to be used before they spoiled.  After some searching, I found some inspiration from a source I would not normally use; Paula Deen at Food Network.  Her recipe served as an outline for me.  I used the Betty Crocker sugar cookie mix in place of the refrigerated dough.  Vanilla extract took the place of the almond or orange extract and strawberry jam stood in for the marmalade.  A little powdered sugar went into the cream cheese and a little grated chocolate for the top.  I only had bananas and strawberries in the way of fruit but it was enough to make this a tasty dessert.

Leave a Reply

