NYT Perfect Chocolate Chip Cookie

The ultimate cookie for me

The ultimate cookie for me

After reading about this recipe from Jacques Torres in the New York Times, I was intrigued.  After all, one doesn’t normally use bread flour in a cookie recipe and who waits 24 to 72 hours to bake a batch of cookies after mixing the dough?  Was the wait worth it?  Most definitely!!!  As the NYT article stated, the eggs are better incorporated into the dough after a couple of days in the fridge.  The original recipe calls for sea salt to be sprinkled onto the cookies just before baking.  The cookies are fantastic with or without the salt.  As for the chocolate discs mentioned, I cannot find them around here and it would be cost prohibitive for me to order them…even though I was sorely tempted to.  I found these larger almost flattened chocolate chips from Ghirardelli to be a splendid substitute.  I wish they came in a 65% cacao content but depending on how bitter or sweet you want your cookies, you can find the 58% or 72% at SuperTarget or at some HEB stores here in TX for around $4 a bag.  You may notice that my cookies in the photo have less chocolate than the ones in the NYT article.  The original recipe calls for 1 1/2 pounds of chocolate.  Although I adore chocolate, I found it to be a bit much.  I reduced that amount to just under a pound and for me and my family, that’s the perfect amount.  The cookie dough is so flavorful that too much chocolate would overpower the caramelly, toffee-like flavors in the baked cookie.  One more thing I should share with you.  When I found this cookie recipe at NYT, I found a link to this article.  For those of you love to bake as I do, I found it illuminating.  Making sure the butter temperature is at 65 degrees when I bake has transformed my skills from good to great.  Something so simple yet so necessary.  Yes, I know it sounds fussy or pedantic but it really made a difference.  I highly recommend taking your butter’s temperature and weighing your flour to have the most consistent results.  Look for the recipe after the jump.

cookie plate

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Adapted from Jacques Torres
Time: 45 minutes (for 1 6-cookie batch), plus at least 24 hours’ chilling
2 cups minus 2 tablespoons (8 1/2 ounces) cake flour
1 2/3 cups (8 1/2 ounces) bread flour
1 1/4 teaspoons baking soda
1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
1 1/2 teaspoons coarse salt
2 1/2 sticks (1 1/4 cups) unsalted butter
1 1/4 cups (10 ounces) light brown sugar
1 cup plus 2 tablespoons (8 ounces) granulated sugar
2 large eggs
2 teaspoons natural vanilla extract
1 1/4 pounds bittersweet chocolate disks or fèves, at least 60 percent cacao content (see note)
Sea salt.

1. Sift flours, baking soda, baking powder and salt into a bowl. Set aside.
2. Using a mixer fitted with paddle attachment, cream butter and sugars together until very light, about 5 minutes. Add eggs, one at a time, mixing well after each addition. Stir in the vanilla. Reduce speed to low, add dry ingredients and mix until just combined, 5 to 10 seconds. Drop chocolate pieces in and incorporate them without breaking them. Press plastic wrap against dough and refrigerate for 24 to 36 hours. Dough may be used in batches, and can be refrigerated for up to 72 hours.
3. When ready to bake, preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper or a nonstick baking mat. Set aside.
4. Scoop 6 3 1/2-ounce mounds of dough (the size of generous golf balls) onto baking sheet, making sure to turn horizontally any chocolate pieces that are poking up; it will make for a more attractive cookie. Sprinkle lightly with sea salt and bake until golden brown but still soft, 18 to 20 minutes. Transfer sheet to a wire rack for 10 minutes, then slip cookies onto another rack to cool a bit more. Repeat with remaining dough, or reserve dough, refrigerated, for baking remaining batches the next day. Eat warm, with a big napkin.
Yield: 1 1/2 dozen 5-inch cookies.
Note: Disks are sold at Jacques Torres Chocolate; Valrhona fèves, oval-shaped chocolate pieces, are at Whole Foods.

8 comments on “NYT Perfect Chocolate Chip Cookie

  1. Ramya says:

    Oh my! The cookie looks so good. Wish i could have a bite. They look delicious. Will be trying this soon..

  2. Steph says:

    I’ve been debating making this cookie for many months now. After reading your post, I am very interested in giving it a shot. The only thing that has been keeping me away from this recipe is the mix of flours. I like to save my cake flour for cakes and bread flour for bread (these are expensive!)..haha. Btw, I read your profile and I totally agree. Martha is good for ideas, but I like to turn to CI for recipes. Have you tried CI’s thick and chewy?

    • tortatebukura says:

      Hi Steph.

      Thank you for your comments. Yes, I’ve tried CI’s Thick and Chewy and it used to be my favorite chocolate chip cookie until I tried the NYT cookie. I am such a fan of CI that I too had my doubts about this recipe at first. You mentioned the 2 types of flour. I’ve read other blogs that have tried this recipe using entirely all-purpose flour and the results were disappointing. This recipe makes quite a bit of dough. After 48 hours, I like to weigh out 3.5 ounce balls of dough and freeze them for later use. This way I can have a fresh, hot cookie anytime I want. I hope you give it a try, Steph. 🙂

  3. Talita says:

    Yummmm!!! These look amazing!! I’ll try these soon!

  4. misscreativecakes says:

    Look really amazing, I should try for my festive Raya

  5. livvyjane says:

    I love those Ghirardelli chips, they are sooo good!
    I’ll have to try those and see if they are better than my favorite chocochip cookie recipe 😉 http://livlovelaugh.wordpress.com/2008/12/03/chocolate-chip-cookies/ <Those are my fav.

Leave a Reply

