Panko-encrusted Fried Zucchini

Fried Zucchini

Fried Zucchini

Ok, I realize that I am in a very small minority but I’m not into Asian food. There, I said it!  Hate me if you must.  But I’ll bet there is at least one Asian person who dislikes Mediterranean food.  I find the spices and sauces used in much of Asian cooking to be so very different from the Mediterranean food that I grew up with.  So I’m not part of the cool crowd that loves sushi, stir-fry, and pad thai.  My husband, my son, my stepdaughters all love Asian food so I’m the black sheep of this family when it comes to Asian food.  I do love to learn about other cultures and peoples but eating the cuisines is another story……with one exception…..PANKO!  Panko bread crumbs are so crisp and crunchy and fry up beautifully.  Today I wanted to use up some zucchini that I had bought a few days ago.  I found a recipe at Food Network that worked well for me.  I used one less egg than what the recipe called for because 3 eggs seemed like too much and I didn’t want to use up all my eggs in one recipe.  I served the zucchini with some jarred pasta sauce (Muir Glen to be exact) that I warmed up.  The zucchini came out so very good that there are no leftovers left. 🙂

Panko-encrusted Fried Zucchini

Adapted from the Neely’s recipe at Food Network

Ingredients

  • Vegetable oil, for frying
  • 2 to 3 large zucchini or 3 to 4 smallish zucchini, cut into 1/4 to 1/2-inch rounds (I cut mine on the diagonal to give them a unique look)
  • 1/2 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 1/2 cups panko bread crumbs
  • Salt and freshly ground black pepper
  • 2 eggs, lightly beaten
  • 1/4 cup water

Measure flour into a pie plate. In another pie plate combine panko and salt and pepper, to taste. In a third plate add eggs and water. Dredge the zucchini in the flour, followed by the egg wash and finally in the panko.  Press crumbs into the zucchini rounds.

Working in batches, place the breaded zucchini slices in the hot oil and fry until golden brown, 3 to 4 minutes. Drain on a paper towel lined sheet tray and immediately season with salt and pepper and sprinkle with Parmesan if you like.

11 comments on “Panko-encrusted Fried Zucchini

  1. Niki says:

    I totally agree on the Asian food thing! I grew up eating Greek and Italian food (I’m Greek, but my parents loved Italian food as well) and the flavors in Asian cuisine are so different! I don’t mind soy sauce really, but when it comes down to it, I would pick a Mediterranean dish over Asian any day!
    Btw, thanks for the tips and I can’t wait to get a new camera (or maybe figure out how to do this w/ my old one) so my pics can look as good as yours!

  2. I love fried zucchini- that looks so good!

  3. Cookie says:

    I agree with you half way. I’m Chinese and do NOT like Chinese food at all! I grew up eating it and don’t really hate it but I wouldn’t mind going through the rest of my life without it. BUT I do love some good sushi once in a while! I definitely like Mediterranean, Italian and Mexican cuisine the best though. Give me some salsa or hummus and I’m a happy camper!

    • tortatebukura says:

      Thank you for the support. I felt like I was the only person in America who doesn’t get Asian food. I’m happy with a plate of Tabbouli or Fattoush salad, Feta cheese and fresh pita bread.

  4. CakeSpy says:

    Oh, hello fried zucchini. I love you. Now get in my belly!

    Seriously–this looks awesome. And you’re not alone with Asian food. I like some types but I just don’t think I will ever be a huge fan of Thai food. Living in Seattle, this is basically like a crime against humanity–I have to keep it quiet.

    • tortatebukura says:

      Oh thank you!!! That makes 4 in a country of 300 million who aren’t big fans of Asian food. The various Asian cultures are very fascinating and rich with tradition but I’d rather learn about them than eat them.

  5. Sheila says:

    Fried zucchini is the ultimate snack food for me. I have never made it and would love to try this recipe. Panko crumbs are excellent for adding a crispy touch to anything. Oh, and my oldest daughter is not a fan of Asian food, so there are a few of you out there.

    • tortatebukura says:

      You will definitely like these. I’ve made fried zucchini with regular bread crumbs before but these made with panko are much better. Let me know how you like them.

  6. Muneeba says:

    I’ve only recently discovered panko breadcrumbs myself, and here’s another great way to use them! These look positively healthy … I think I could get away with eating a whole batch of these myself!

  7. damaris says:

    this recipe looks great. I’m going to try making something like this for my 3 year old. Hope he likes it.

Leave a Reply

