German Apple Pancake

DSCN0751There are occasions that I make certain recipes just for my son and husband.  This was one of them.  I’m not a fan of cooked fruit…never have been.    Fresh fruit I like.  The crispness, juiciness and sweetness of an apple that’s cool from the fridge is what I prefer.  Once it’s cooked, it completely loses its appeal with me.  It can smell great but there’s something about the texture and the warmth of cooked fruit that doesn’t compute with me.  My boys like it though so I found this recipe for a German Apple Pancake in my favorite baking book and used up some apples that weren’t getting any younger in the fridge.  They both loved this pancake.  It’s a fairly quick and easy dessert or great as part of a brunch.  It was fun for me to make because I liked watching it puff up in the oven.

German Apple Pancake

Adapted from the The America’s Test Kitchen Baking Book

Serves 4

Note:  The apples that you choose can greatly affect the flavor of this recipe.  If you prefer tart apples, use Granny Smiths; if you prefer sweet ones, use Braeburns.  One-third cup each of heavy cream and whole milk can be substituted for the half-and-half.

– 1/2 cup (2 1/2 ounces) all-purpose flour

– 1 tablespoon sugar

– 1/2 teaspoon salt

– 2/3 cup half-and-half

– 2 large eggs

– 1 teaspoon vanilla extract

– 2 tablespoons unsalted butter

-1 1/4 pounds (3 to 4 large) apples, peeled, cored, quartered, and sliced 1/2-inch thick

– 1/4 cup packed (1.75 ounces) light or dark brown sugar

– 1/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon

– 1 teaspoon fresh lemon juice

-powdered sugar for dusting

1.  Adjust an oven rack to the upper-middle position and heat the oven to 500 degrees F.  Allow the oven to heat for at least 15 minutes before baking the pancake.   Whisk the flour, sugar, and salt together in a large bowl.  In a small bowl, whisk the half-and-half, eggs and vanilla together.  Whisk the half-and-half mixture into the flour mixture until smooth with no lumps.

2.  Melt the butter in a 10-inch ovenproof nonstick skillet over medium-high heat.  Add the apples, brown sugar, and cinnamon and cook, stirring often, until the apples are golden brown, about 10 minutes.  Off the heat, stir in the lemon juice.

3.  Quickly pour the batter around the edge of the skillet first, then over the apples.  Place the skillet in the oven and immediately reduce the oven temperature to 425 degrees F.  Bake until the pancake is brown and has risen about the edges of the skillet, about 15 to 18 minutes.

4.  Loosen the pancake edges from the hot skillet with a heat-proof spatula and flip the pancake onto a large plate or serving platter.  Dust with powdered sugar, cut into wedges, and serve immediately.

7 comments on “German Apple Pancake

  1. ziabaki says:

    I LOVE apple pancakes! There is a place in Portland Oregon, that has been feeding 3 generations of Portlanders these wonderful yummies, Thanks for the recipe. I will make these.

  2. Muneeba says:

    I think I’ll be making this for my family when they come over to visit on a weekend … perfect! Should satisfy their sweet tooth nicely!

    • tortatebukura says:

      It’s not like a typical pancake…this one is more egg-y. The kitchen smelled so good when I sauteed the apples with the cinnamon.

      I hope your family likes it, Muneeba, because my boys sure did.

  3. Eunice Almogodoro says:

    Wow, this is just like a recipe passed down through my family called Dutch Babies, but without the apples! I’ll have to try this soon, thank you!

  4. gaga says:

    Mmmm, I love getting this at my local brunch spot. This looks awesome!

  5. julia says:

    This looks perfect! Looks very traditional…At least from know what I know about traditional german Apple Pancakes 🙂 Saw them on tastespotting.

Leave a Reply

